Home English News Palanivel remains tight-lipped on naming three for Senator post

Palanivel remains tight-lipped on naming three for Senator post


palanivel-1KUALA LUMPUR, May 2 — MIC President Datuk Seri G.Palanivel remains tight-lipped on naming the three for senator post, who would sworn in during the next Dewan Negara session this June.

“Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has approved the three MIC senate posts. It is always the party president who decides on the senate post,” he said in a statement here today.

He said that every senator would serve only one term for three years instead of serving two terms or six years as previously.

Last month, an online portal reported that Palanivel had finally nominated three fresh faces to be made senators under the party quota, said a party source.

The three are MIC vice-president S Sothinathan, party treasurer-general S.Murugesan and former deputy Youth chief V Mugilan.

MIC has a quota of six senators, three of which are now being held by central working committee members Petaling Jaya Selatan MIC chief V Subramaniam, party central working committee member A Sivapakiam and former treasurer-general Jaspal Singh.

On another development, Palanivel said that Kedah Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mukriz Mahathir had also promised a rotation system for the senate post the next round for Kedah MIC.

He said he would discuss with Mukriz on the rotation of senate posts. It would be one term for MIC and two terms for major component parties of the Barisan National, added Palanivel.