Home English News PKR retains Kajang with lower majority

PKR retains Kajang with lower majority


wan-azizah-chew-mei-funKAJANG, March 23 – The final tally from all 88 voting channels showed that PKR president Dr Wan Azizah Ismail has defeated MCA-BN’s Chew Mei Fun in the Kajang state seat by-election.

In the final count, Wan Azizah secured 16,741 votes while Chew Mei Fun taking in 11,362 votes, giving Wan Azizah a 5,379-vote majority.

The voter turnout for the by-election was 72 percent (28,314 voters) compared to a turnout of 87.9 percent in the May 5 general election last year.


The Kajang seat, with a total 39,728 registered voters, fell vacant following the resignation of its PKR assemblyman Lee Chin Cheh.

In 2013, PKR’s Lee garnered 19,571 votes followed by Lee Ban Seng (BN-MCA) with 12,747 votes and Mohamad Ismail (Berjasa) 1,014 votes.

The three independent candidates who contested the seat are Mohd Iwan Jefrey Abdul Majib (249 votes), Ong Yan Foo (85 votes) and Mohd Khalid Kassim (83 votes).

Lee won the seat with a comfortable 6,824 vote majority.