Home English News Teluk Intan By-election: 35 Polling Centres Open At 8 AM

Teluk Intan By-election: 35 Polling Centres Open At 8 AM


Mah-Siew-Keong-dyaa-sofya-teluk-intan-300x199TELUK INTAN, May 31 — A total of 35 polling centres in the Teluk Intan Parliamentary constituency opened at 8am today to allow 59,927 voters to elect their new representative in the Teluk Intan Parliamentary seat by-election.

The by-election for the Teluk Intan parliamentary constituency which will see a straight fight between Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate Datuk Mah Siew Keong and DAP’s Dyana Sofya Mohd Daud, has two state constituencies, namely Pasir Bedamar and Changkat Jong.

All polling station will close at 5pm today, except the polling station in Sekolah Rendah Jenis Kebangsaan (T) Ladang Sungai Timah which is scheduled to close at 4pm since there are less voters in the area.

Once all the polling centres are closed at 5pm, the counting of votes are expected to begin at Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Abdul Rahman Talib in Jalan Changkat Jong, here.

Perak Election Commission (EC) director Ahmad Adli Abdullah expects more than 80 percent voters to turn out and cast their votes on polling day, today.

He added that the result of the polls would be announced at 9pm if everything runs smoothly.

The by-election is being held following the death of incumbent Seah Leong Peng, 48 from DAP who died after a long battle with cancer on May 1.

In the last May 2013 General Election, Seah who was involved in a three-cornered fight, beat two other candidates by a 7,313-vote majority.

Meanwhile, weather in Teluk Intan was sunny in the morning but the Malaysian Meteorology Department has forecast rain in the afternoon.