Home English News Curfew in ESSZONE extended to January 6

Curfew in ESSZONE extended to January 6


KOTA KINABALU: The curfew in the waters of seven districts within the Eastern Sabah Security Zone (ESSZone) which will be ending on Dec 22 (Sunday) has been extended to January 6, said Sabah police commissioner Datuk Omar Mammah.

Omar in a statement today said the curfew from 6 pm to 6 am covered the waters off Tawau, Semporna, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Kinabatangan, Sandakan and Beluran.

He said with the enforcement of the curfew, people living in these areas are required to stay indoor while outsiders are not allowed to enter or be at the declared areas between 6 pm and 6 am on the stipulated dates.


“The continuous curfew is to ensure the waters is not intruded by terrorists threatening the security of researchers and tourists in the areas.

“The curfew is to ensure the security and wellbeing of Sabahans in ESSZone districts,” he said.

Omar said the curfew is also to facilitate enforcement and monitoring of boat movements as well as to give confidence to chalet operators and fishermen with the presence of security forces.

“I have also authorised all district police chiefs in ESSzone to issue permits to eligible applicants for the purpose of fishing and attending to urgent matters during the curfew,” he said.